BIMSB Opening Feb 2019

Medical Systems Biology

The Berlin Institute for Medical Systems Biology (BIMSB)

Fellowships and Awards

Major awards and prizes of group leaders


Jan Philipp Junker: EMBO Young Investigator Award

Stephan Preibisch und Thoralf Niendorf:



Marina Chekulaeva, DFG grant to dissect the mechanisms of miRNA function in establishment of neuronal polarity

Marina Chekulaeva, grant from the German-Israeli Foundation for Scientific Research and Development (GIF), with Igor Ulitsky, Weizmann Institute of Science

Marina Chekulaeva, Coordinator of the EU-JPND multi-national consortiumlocalMND: Common architecture of local proteome, transcriptome and translatome across Motor Neuron disorders 

Uwe Ohler, DFG International Research Training Group 2403 "Dissecting and re-engineering the regulatory genome" (includes Pombo, Rajewsky, Zinzen) 

Ana Pombo, elected EMBO member

Stephan Preibisch, HFSP Program Grant 

Robert Zinzen, SPP1738.2 - Emerging roles of non-coding RNAs in nervous system development and disease

Altuna Akalin, Ulf Landmesser, BIH TT Fund Pharma 2017, use of circulating cell-free DNA methylation as a diagnostic tool

Mario Nicodemi, Einstein BIH Visiting Fellow, hosted by Ana Pombo 

Nikolaus Rajewsky, Norbert Hübner and Jan Philipp Junker, Chan Zuckerberg Initiative

Nikolaus Rajewsky, Stephan Preibisch, H2020 Innovative Training Grant „circRTrain“



Altuna Akalin, BMBF Summer School, Computer-based genomics in systems and precision medicine

Altuna Akalin, Uwe Ohler, BMBF de.NBI (deutsche nationale Bioinformatik-Infrastruktur); Epigenetics network (lead Benedikt Brors, DKFZ)

Marina Chekulaeva, Markus Landthaler, Uwe Ohler, Nikolaus Rajewsky, Matthias Selbach,  DFG SPP 1935 "Deciphering the mRNP code" (multiple subprojects)

Jan Philipp Junker, ARCHES prize of the Minerva Stiftung in collaboration with Erez Levanon, Bar-Ilan University, Israel

Jan Philipp Junker, European Research Council Starting Grant

Markus Landthaler, Uwe Ohler, BMBF e:Bio "caRNAtion" (lead Michael Gotthardt, MDC)

Markus Landthaler, GlaxoSmithKline Foundation’s Science Prize

Uwe Ohler, SFB TR175 "The green hub" (lead Dario Leister, LMU)

Roland Schwarz, Prize of the BBAW, donated by the Monika Kutzner Foundation



Altuna Akalin, De.NBI - Establishment phase Central Coordination Unit (CCU): RNA Bioinformatics Center (RBC)

Altuna Akalin, Uwe Ohler, Nils Blüthgen, BIH/Terminate-NB

Uwe Ohler, Nikolaus Rajewsky, BMBF de.NBI (deutsche nationale Bioinformatik-Infrastruktur); RNA Bioinformatics Center (lead Rolf Backofen, Uni Freiburg)

Nikolaus Rajewsky, Jutta Steinkötter,  Altuna Akalin, CORBEL (Coordinated Research Infrastructures Building Eduring Life-science services)

Baris Tursun, European Research Council Starting Grant



Nikolaus Rajewsky, Human Frontier Science Program in collaboration with 3 international scientists

Nikolaus Rajewsky, Honorary PhD in Human Genetics and Medical Biology, La Sapienza University, Rome



Robert Zinzen, SPP1738 - Emerging roles of non-coding RNAs in nervous system development and disease

Baris Tursun, FP7-PEOPLE-CIG, Marie-Curie Action



Uwe Ohler, National Institutes of Health/National Institute of General Medical Sciences, R01 Transformative Research Award (team with Dinshaw Patel, Tom Tuschl)

Uwe Ohler, HFSP research grant (team with Casey Bergman, Pavel Tomancak)

Nikolaus Rajewsky, Leibniz Award of the DFG



Nikolaus Rajewsky, Science Award of the Governing Mayor of Berlin



Nikolaus Rajewsky, Kick-off funding through the competitive federal initiative “Spitzenforschung in den neuen Bundesländern” (Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) & the Senate of Berlin)

Nikolaus Rajewsky, Global Distinguished Professor, New York University


Fellowships and awards of young researchers



Samantha Mendonsa, Chekulaeva lab, German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) PhD Fellowship

Jose Muino, Ohler lab, DFG Funding

Inga Loedige, Chekulaeva lab and Ohler lab, DFG Funding

Emanuel Wyler, Landthaler lab, BIH QUEST Open Data Award

Jennifer A. Giannini, Pombo lab, German-American Fulbright Study/Research Award, Fulbright Commission

Warren Winick-Ng, Pombo lab, MDC Young Science Transfer Award

Elena Torlai Triglia, Pombo lab, BIH QUEST Open Data Award

Christin Sünkel and Nikolaos Karaiskos, N Rajewsky lab, MDC BOOST grant

Florian Massip, Roland Schwarz lab,  Fondation pour la Recherche Médicale Scolarship

Ismail Özcan, Tursun lab DAAD PhD Fellowship



Bo Hu, Junker lab, Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes PhD Fellowship

Jonas Peters, Landthaler lab, Friedrich-Naumann-Stiftung Scolarship

Izabela Harabula, Pombo lab, Boehringer Ingelheim Fonds PhD Fellowship

Nikita Vladimirov, Preibisch lab, H2020 Marie Skłodowska- Curie Actions: Individual Fellowship

Samantha Praktiknjo, N Rajewsky lab, BSIO Postgraduate Early Independency Grant

Ivano Legnini, N Rajewsky lab, EMBO Fellowship



Roberto Moreno-Ayala, JP Junker lab, CONACYT Postdoctoral Research Fellowship

Gesa Loof, Pombo lab, Boehringer Ingelheim Fonds Travel Grant

Stephan Preibisch & Simone Reber (Varun Kapoor), IRI Lifesciences postdoc program

Yuliang Qu, B Tursun lab, Chinese Scholarship Council PhD Scholarship



Camilla Ciolli Mattioli, Chekulaeva lab, Peter and Traudl Engelhorn Stiftung PhD Fellowship

Scott Lacadie, Ohler lab, Stiftung Charité BIH Delbrück Fellowship

Elena Torlai Triglia, Pombo lab, EMBO Short Term Fellowship (ASTF 336-2015)

Christin Stottmeister, N Rajewsky lab, Böhringer Ingelheim Fonds PhD Fellowship

Nida ul Fatima, Tursun lab, NUST Program

Mei He, Tursun lab, Chinese Scholarship Council PhD Scholarship



Marta Mauri, Chekulaeva lab, DAAD PhD Scholarship

Stefanie Grosswendt, N Rajewsky lab, EMBO Short-term Fellowship



Caibin Sheng, Loewer lab, Chinese Scholarship Council PhD Scholarship

Alina Munteanu, Ohler Lab, DAAD visiting PhD fellowship

Neelanjan Mukherjee, Ohler lab, Marie Curie IIF Postdoctoral Fellowship

Marlon Kazmierczak, Tursun lab, MDC Fellowship Committee PhD Fellowship



Tao Chen, Chen lab, Chinese Scholarship Council PhD Scholarship

Mei-Sheng Xiao, Chen lab, Chinese Scholarship Council PhD Scholarship

Qingsong Gao, Chen lab, Chinese Scholarship Council PhD Scholarshi

Miha Milek, Landthaler lab, Marie Curie IEF Postdoctoral Fellowship

Benedikt Obermayer, N Rajewsky lab, MDC Fellowship Committee Delbrück Fellowship

Oktay Kaplan, Tursun lab, Helmholtz Postdoc Program & EMBO Long-term Fellowship



Erik McShane, Selbach lab, MDC Fellowship Committee PhD Fellowship



Yasuhiro Murakawa, Landthaler lab, DAAD PhD Scholarship


Follow us

Kaminski Lab


Latest BIMSB News


February 2020

Recruitment Symposium
"Advanced Imaging Applications for Systems Biology" &
"Computational/Theoretical Approaches for Deciphering Human Disease Data"
Feb 24, 2020, 9 am – 6:15 pm in the large BIMSB conference room

Recruitment Symposium
“Single Cell Goes Clinical"

Feb 6, 2020, 9 am – 6:40 pm in the large BIMSB conference room


November 2019

Jan Phillip Junker named EMBO Young Investigator

1st HU-BIMSB Symposium @ BIMSB


October 2019

Open Positions

Independent Junior Group Leader Position in Advanced Imaging Applications for Systems Biology

Independent Junior Group Leader Position in Computational or Theoretical Approaches for Deciphering Human Disease Data

3 Independent Junior Research Group Leaders in Single Cell Approaches for Personalized Medicine


September 2019

Breaking Boundaries: Festive Opening with Pamela Biermann, Wolf Biermann and Jens Reich


April 2019

© Inforadio des rbb

Wissenschaftsredakteur Thomas Prinzler hat für das Inforadio des rbb mit Prof. Rajewsky über das BIMSB und über ein Hirn in der Petrischale gesprochen.


February 2019
BIMSB Research Building officially inaugurated by Chancellor Angela Merkel


January 2019

LifeTime receives EU funding


December 2018
Breakthrough of the Year