Heibrids Main

Participating Scientists

ECDF

The ECDF strategy focuses on research in one core area – digital methods, algorithms and infrastructure and the innovation areas – digital health, digital industry and services and digital humanities and society. The  research in the core area will lead to both the development and deployment of infrastructures or experimental setups as well as to theoretical foundations and conceptual solutions for the application domains. The ECDF supports novel research projects by a competitive call for new interdisciplinary projects every year.

These calls aim at stimulating common ideas from the research fellows at the ECDF and the researchers in the participating universities and research institutions. Enforcing common projects is expected to further facilitate interdisciplinary research. The additional professors from the ECDF will focus on interdisciplinary projects. Analogous to the innovation areas previously described, further research topics will be defined and processed by the ECDF management bodies.

ECDF Scientists

 

Prof. Giuseppe Caire

Communications and Information Theory Chair

Technische Universität Berlin

caire@tu-berlin.de

Project 1. Enhanced Computational Approaches for Seismic Risk Assessment of Infrastructure Networks

Project 2. Computational Imaging via Model-Based Signal Reconstruction

 

Prof. Johann-Christoph Freytag

Databank and Information Systems

Humboldt Universität

freytag@informatik.hu-berlin.de

Project 1. Arctic Environmental Data Analytics

Project 2. An unsupervised census of astrophysical transients in the universe

 

Prof. Odej Kao

Chair Complex and Distributed IT Systems

Technische Universität Berlin

Odej.Kao@TU-Berlin.de

Project 1. Meeting the Big Data Challenge in Planetary Exploration: A Novel Analysis System for Tracking, Ranging, and Imaging Data

Project 2. Optimised waveform selection in seismology

 

Prof. Natalie Kliewer

Optimization in Public Transportation, Robust Scheduling, Delay Management, Airline Revenue Management

Freie Universität

natalia.kliewer@fu-berlin.de

Project 1.  Optimization of solar energy yield and specific load conditions considering electric buses in public transportation

 

Prof. Titus Kühne

Director of the Institute for Imaging Science and Computational Modelling in Cardiovascular Medicine

Charité Universitätmedizin

titus.kuehne@dhzb.de

Project 1. Integration of heterogeneous data by multiscale computational modelling in cardiovascular medicine

 

Prof. Ulf Leser

Knowledge Management in BioInformatics

Humboldt-Universität

leser@informatik.hu-berlin.de

Project 1. Scalable Machine Learning for  Remote Sensing Data Analysis

Project 2. Fast assessment of earthquakes

Project 3. Corpus-wide inference of gene relationships using semantic word representations

Project 4. Machine Learning meets Theoretical Chemistry: Data-driven Analysis of Grapheneoxide

Project 5. Performance Modellling for Data-Intensive Applications

 

Prof. Sergio Lucia

Head Chair Internet of Things for Smart Buildings

Technische Universität

sergio.lucia@tu-berlin.de

Project 1. Optimal design of photoelectrochemical water splitting via deep learning

Project 2. Low-power data analytics for self-localization systems

 

Prof. Setareh Maghsudi

Control of Convergent Access Networks

Technische Universität

maghsudi@tu-berlin.de

Project 1. Online Learning and Decision Making for Real-Time Analytics of Synthetic Aperture Radar (SAR) Data

Project 2. Fully automated expert processing of macromolecular diffraction data

Project 3. Pattern identification and clustering of single cell RNA-sequencing data using concepts from data analytics and network science

 

Prof. Volker Markl

Chair of the Database Systems and Information Management (DIMA)

Technische Universität

volker.markl@tu-berlin.de

Project 1. Quality assessment of fragmented data in a materials properties data lake

Project 2. End-to-End Management of Experimental Data Science on Biomedical Molecular Data

 

Prof. Klaus Robert Müller

Machine Learning

Technische Universität

klaus-robert.mueller@tu-berlin.de

Project 1. Unravelling the Interior Evolution of Terrestrial Planets Through Machine Learning

Project 2. Towards whole-genome vs. whole-brain association studies

 

Prof. Knut Reinert

Institute for Informatics and Algorithmic Bioinformatics

Freie Universität

knut.Reinert@fu-berlin.de

Project 1. New routines to explore modern genomic data  to assess ancient DNA records from the Last Ice Age

 

Prof. Stephan Reitzenstein

Solid-State Physics

Technische Universität

stephan.reitzenstein@physik.tu-berlin.de

Project 1. Array of tunable single photon emitters for photonic reservoir computing and quantum computing

 

Prof. Björn Scheuermann

Chair of Computer Engineering

Humboldt-Universität

scheuermann@informatik.hu-berlin.de

Project 1. On-board Image Classification based on Space-Based FPGA Processing

 

Prof. Christof Schütte

Head of Biocomputing Group

Freie Universität

christof.schuette@fu-berlin.de

Project 1. Simulation and Machine Learning of Sulfur Phase Behavior and Molecular Assembly Landscapes in electrochecmical LiS-based energy storage systems

Project 2. Automated recognition of pathogenic cellular organization from X-ray microscopy

Project 3. Optimizing nanotextured solar cells for realistic weather conditions

 

Prof. Ulrike Woggon

Nonlinear Optics

Technische Universität

ulrike.woggon@tu-berlin.de

Project 1. Integrated hard- and software system for real-time analysis of ultrafast dynamic processes

 

AWI Scientists

 

Prof. Bernhard Diekmann (Website)

Head of AWI

Geosciences | Polar Terrestrial Environmental Systems

bernhard.diekmann@awi.de

Project 1. Arctic Environmental Data Analytics

 

Prof. Guido Grosse (Website)

Head of Periglacial Research Section

Geosciences | Periglacial Research

guido.grosse@awi.de

 

Prof. Ulrike Herzschuh (Website)

Leader of Ecosystem Change Group

Geosciences | Polar Terrestrial Environmental Systems 

Ulrike.Herzschuh@awi.de

Project 1. New routines to explore modern genomic data  to assess ancient DNA records from the Last Ice Age

 

Prof. Markus Rex (Website)

Head of Atmospheric Physics Section

Climate Sciences | Atmospheric Physics

Markus.Rex@awi.de

DESY Scientists

 

Prof. David Berge (Website)

Experimental Particle and Astroparticle Physics

d.berge@uva.nl

 

Prof. Marek Kowalski (Website)

Astroparticle Physics and IceCube Experiment

marek.kowalski@desy.de

Project 1. An unsupervised census of astrophysical transients in the universe

 

Prof. Martin Pohl (Website)

Astroparticle Physics

marpohl@uni-potsdam.de

 

Dr. Hubert Simma

Computational Elementary Particle Physics

hubert.simma@desy.de

Project 1. Performance Modellling for Data-Intensive Applications

 

Prof. Christian Stegmann (Website)

Head of DESY Zeuthen and Coordinator of Astroparticle Physics in the Helmholtz Association

Astroparticle Physics

christian.stegmann@desy.de

 

Prof. Huirong Yan (Website)

Theoretical Astroparticle Physics

hyan@mail.desy.de

DLR Scientists

 

Dr. Ing. Anko Börner (Website)

Head of Department “Information Processing”- Institute of Optical Sensor Systems

Image Processing

anko.boerner@dlr.de

Project 1. Low-power data analytics for self-localization systems

 

Prof. Doris Breuer (Website)

Head of Department Planetary Physics

Institute of Planetary Research

doris.breuer@dlr.de

Project 1. Unravelling the Interior Evolution of Terrestrial Planets Through Machine Learning

 

Dr. Winfried Halle

Optical Sensors and Electronics

winfried.halle@dlr.de

Project 1. On-board Image Classification based on Space-Based FPGA Processing

 

Prof. Heiz-Wilhelm Hübers (Website)

Director Institute of Optical Sensor Systems

heinz-wilhelm.huebers@dlr.de

Project 1. Integrated hard- and software system for real-time analysis of ultrafast dynamic processes

Project 2. Computational Imaging via Model-Based Signal Reconstruction

 

Dr. David Krutz (Website)

Institute of Optical Sensor Systems

david.krutz@dlr.de

 

Prof. Jürgen Oberst (Website)

Deputy Head Institute of Planetary Research

Planetary Geodesy and Geoinformation

Juergen.Oberst@dlr.de

Project 1. Meeting the Big Data Challenge in Planetary Exploration: A Novel Analysis System for Tracking, Ranging, and Imaging Data

GFZ Scientists

 

Prof. Jean Braun (Website)

Earth Surface Process Modeling

jean.braun@gfz-potsdam.de

 

Prof. Fabrice Cotton (Website)

Seismic Hazard and Stress Field

fabrice.cotton@gfz-potsdam.de

Project 1. Enhanced Computational Approaches for Seismic Risk Assessment of Infrastructure Networks

 

Prof. Luis Guanter (Website)

Head of Section Remote Sensing

guanter@gfz-potsdam.de

 

Prof. Mahdi Motagh (Website)

Co-leader of the working group 'Radar and optical remote sensing for geohazards'

motagh@gfz-potsdam.de

Project 1. Online Learning and Decision Making for Real-Time Analytics of Synthetic Aperture Radar (SAR) Data

 

Prof. Emmanuel Müller (Website)

Chair of Knowledge Discovery and Data Mining

emmanuel.mueller@hpi.de

Project 1. Scalable Machine Learning for  Remote Sensing Data Analysis

 

Prof. Claudia Stolle (Website)

Head of Section Geomagnetism

cstolle@gfz-potsdam.de

 

Prof. Frederik Tilmann (Website)

Head of Section Seismology

frederik.tilmann@gfz-potsdam.de

Project 1. Fast assessment of earthquakes

Project 1. Optimised waveform selection in seismology

HZB Scientists

 

Dr. Annika Bande (Website)

Leader of Freigeist Junior Research Group on Theoretical Chemistry

annika.bande@helmholtz-berlin.de

Project 1. Machine Learning meets Theoretical Chemistry: Data-driven Analysis of Grapheneoxide

 

Prof. Christiane Becker (Website)

Head of the Young Investigator Group Nano-SIPPE

christiane.becker@helmholtz-berlin.de

Project 1. Optimizing nanotextured solar cells for realistic weather conditions

 

Prof. Catherine Dubourdieu (Website)

Functional Oxides for Energy-Efficient Information Technology

catherine.dubourdieu@helmholtz-berlin.de

Project 1. Array of tunable single photon emitters for photonic reservoir computing and quantum computing

 

Prof. Joachim Dzubiella (Website)

Research Group Leader Institute for Soft Matter and Functional Materials

joachim.dzubiella@helmholtz-berlin.de

Project 1. Optimal design of photoelectrochemical water splitting via deep learning

             Simulation and Machine Learning of Sulfur Phase Behavior and Molecular Assembly Landscapes in    electrochecmical LiS-based energy storage systems

 

Prof. Helge Ewers

Leader "X-Ray Microscopy” for studying complex cellular processes

helge.ewers@fu-berlin.de 

Project 1. Automated recognition of pathogenic cellular organization from X-ray microscopy

 

Prof. Andreas Jankowiak (Website)

project leader “BESSY-VSR Variable Pulse Length Storage Ring upgrade of BESSY II”

andreas.jankowiak@helmholtz-berlin.de

 

Prof. Roel Van de Krol (Website)

Head of the Institute for Solar Fuels

roel.vandekrol@helmholtz-berlin.de

 

Prof. Bernd Rech (Website)

Acting scientific director HZB

Director Institute of Silicon Photovoltaics

bernd.rech@helmholtz-berlin.de

 

Prof. Rutger Schlatmann (Website)

Head of the PVcomB - Competence Centre Thin-Film and Nanotechnology for Photovoltaics

rutger.schlatmann@helmholtz-berlin.de

Project 1. Optimization of solar energy yield and specific load conditions considering electric buses in public transportation

 

Prof. Susan Schorr

Crystallography

Department Structure and Dynamics of Energy Materials 

susan.schorr@helmholtz-berlin.de

Project 1. Quality assessment of fragmented data in a materials properties data lake

 

Prof. Markus Wahl

Research Group Macromolecular Crystallography 

markus.wahl@helmholtz-berlin.de

Project 1. Fully automated expert processing of macromolecular diffraction data

MDC Scientists

 

Dr. Martin Falcke (Website)

Group Leader Mathematical Cell Physiology

martin.falcke@mdc-berlin.de

Project 1. Integration of heterogeneous data by multiscale computational modelling in cardiovascular medicine

 

Dr. Jan Philipp Junker (Website)

Group Leader Quantitative Developmental Biology

janphilipp.junker@mdc-berlin.de

 

Christoph Lippert (Website)

Group Leader Statistical Genomics

Christoph.Lippert@mdc-berlin.de

Project 1.  Towards whole-genome vs. whole-brain association studies

 

Prof. Uwe Ohler (Website)

Group Leader Computational Regulatory Genomics

Uwe.Ohler@mdc-berlin.de

Project 1. End-to-End Management of Experimental Data Science on Biomedical Molecular Data

Project 2. Pattern identification and clustering of single cell RNA-sequencing data using concepts from data analytics and network science

 

Dr. Stephan Preibisch (Website)

Group Leader Microscopy, Image Analysis and Modeling of Developing Organisms

Stephan.Preibisch@mdc-berlin.de

 

Dr. Roland Schwarz (Website)

Group Leader Evolution and Cancer Genomics

Roland.Schwarz@mdc-berlin.de

 

Dr. Jana Wolf (Website)

Group Leader Mathematical Modelling of Cellular Processes

jana.wolf@mdc-berlin.de

Project 1. Corpus-wide inference of gene relationships using semantic word representations