Conference Room

Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board advises the Supervisory Board and the Board of Directors in scientific and programmatic, as well as significant structural matters. The Scientific Advisory Board is responsible for the ongoing evaluation of the results of the research work of the MDC through scientific assessment and is independent in its advisory activity.

The members of the Scientific Advisory Board are up to twelve recognized scientists from Germany or abroad who are close to the main research areas of the MDC.


Prof. Dr. Jo Bury 
Vlaams Instituut voor Biotechnologie (VIB), Gent, Belgien 


Prof. Dr. Dietmar Vestweber
Max-Planck-Institut für Molekular Medizin, Münster 


Prof. Dr. Ralf Bargou 
Onkologisches Zentrum, Universitätsklinikum Würzburg, Würzburg

Prof. Dr. Barbara Casadei
Radcliffe Department of Medicine, University of Oxford, UK 

Dr. Jan Ellenberg
The European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), Heidelberg 

Dr. Eileen Furlong
The European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), Heidelberg 

Prof. Dr. Jennifer Lippincott-Schwartz
Janelia Research Campus, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Prof. Dr. Brenda Schulman 
Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie, Martinsried

Dr. Oliver Stegle
DKFZ, Heidelberg

Prof. Dr. Elly Tanaka 
Research Institute of Molecular Pathology, Vienna BioCenter, Wien, Österreich

Dr. Gene W. Yeo
University of California San Diego