Conference Room

Supervisory Board

Supervisory committee of the MDC

The Supervisory Board of the MDC is responsible for monitoring the legality, effectiveness, and economic efficiency of the management of all the activities of the corporation and can request at any time reports from the Board of Directors. It determines which decisions of the Board of Directors require the prior approval of the Supervisory Board and may issue instructions about important matters involving political aspects of the research and financial affairs of the corporation.

The Supervisory Board consists of no more than twelve members. Its members include, among others: two representatives from the federal government, a representative of the State of Berlin, the chairman of the Scientific Advisory Board, the Presidents of the Humboldt Universität zu Berlin and the Freie Universität Berlin, and two MDC representatives.


Ministerialdirektorin Prof. Dr. Veronika von Messling
Federal Ministry of Education and Research


Dr. Jutta Koch-Unterseher
Senate Chancellery - Higher Education and Research


Peter Albiez
Pfizer Deutschland GmbH

Prof. Dr. Patrick Cramer
Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry Göttingen 
SAB Chairman

Prof. Dr. Oliver Daumke
Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine in the Helmholtz Association

Ministerialrat Dr. Jan Grapentin
Federal Ministry of Education and Research

Prof. Dr. Annette Grüters-Kieslich
Charité Campus Virchow Klinikum

Prof. Dr. Sabine Kunst
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin 

Prof. Dr. Hannah Monyer
Neurologische Universitätsklinik and Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum Heidelberg 

Prof. Dr. Claus Scheidereit
Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine in the Helmholtz Association

Prof. Günter M. Ziegler
Freie Universität Berlin