Stock Photo newspapers

Scientists from Buch Awarded Domagk Prize

The Gerhard Domagk Prize for cancer research, a total of 20,000 Marks, has been awarded this year to three scientists of the Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine (MDC) in Berlin-Buch and to three surgeons of the Hannover Medical School (HMS). The foundation, located in Munster gave the award to Prof. Heinz Bielka, Dr. Rainer Benndorf and Dr. Matthias Gaestel of the MDC as well as to Dr. Joachim Jähn, Prof. Hans-Joachim Meyer and Prof. Rudolf Pichlmayr.

The prize is given to the three scientists from Berlin-Buch for their basic research on celluar stress proteins and the application to cancer research. The scientists from Hannover are honoured for their work on stomach cancer.

Prof. Bielka and his staff worked for many years at the Central Institute for Molecular Biology of the Academy of Sciences of the GDR in Berlin-Buch and are now working at the MDC. The award, named after the Nobel Prize winner Gerhard Domagk (1895 - 1964), will be officially presented to the winners in Munster this coming June. Domagk founded the award a few years be fore his death in 1961 for work in experimental and dinical cancer research.

The MDC was founded a year ago. Its goal in science is to quickly apply the progress made in basic research in molecular biology to work in the dinic. The MDC is one of three large research centres in the new federal states. It is financed 90 per cent by the Federal Ministry for Research and Technology in Bonn and 10 per cent by the Berlin government. There are a total of 16 such research centres in Germany.

Press and Public Affairs
Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine (MDC) Berlin-Buch
Robert-Rössle-Strasse 10
0-1115 Berlin

Phone: +49 (0) 30 94 06 - 38 96
Fax:  +49 (0) 30 94 06 - 38 33