EU-LIFE: Group Picture

EU-LIFE

Allianz führender Life-Science-Forschungszentren

EU-LIFE ist ein Bündnis der biowissenschaftlichen Spitzenforschung Europas. Es vertritt die Interessen seiner Mitglieder auf europäischer Ebene und fördert den Austausch zwischen ihnen.

In der EU-LIFE-Allianz verbünden sich 13 führende europäische Forschungszentren aus den Lebenswissenschaften, um die Spitzenforschung in Europa zu fördern und zu stärken. Das MDC ist als einziges Mitglied aus Deutschland dabei.

Interessenvertretung in der europäischen Politik

EU-LIFE fördert und stärkt die europäische Spitzenforschung. Die Partner im EU-LIFE-Bündnis sind renommierte Forschungszentren aus ganz Europa und repräsentieren über 7.200 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler. Das Bündnis startete im Mai 2013 und hat sich seither als Stimme für Forschungseinrichtungen in der europäischen Politik etabliert.

Gegenwärtig ist es Teil der beiden Plattformen für Stakeholder-Organisationen, welche regelmäßig den EU-Kommissar Carlos Moedas und die europäische Generaldirektion Forschung und Innovation beraten: die Open Science Policy Platform und die Stakeholder Platform Europäischer Forschungsraum.

Zusammenarbeit in Arbeitsgruppen

Diese Beiträge zur EU-Forschungspolitik gründen auf den Ergebnissen der EU-LIFE-Arbeitsgruppen, in denen die Institutionen zusammenarbeiten.

Derzeit gibt es sechs "working groups", die sich regelmäßig treffen und über Fragen zur translationalen Forschung, zur Wissenschaftskommunikation, der Rekrutierung und Ausbildung, dem Technologietransfer und Förderungsstrategien beraten. In der Strategie-Arbeitsgruppe entwickeln die Direktorinnen und Direktoren der EU-LIFE-Institutionen strategische Positionspapiere und Empfehlungen.

Wissenschaftlicher Austausch

Bei einer jährlichen Konferenz tritt die EU-LIFE-Forschungsgemeinschaft zusammen und diskutiert ein aktuelles wissenschaftliches Thema.

Die Teilnehmer des EU-LIFE Scientific Meetings 2017 zum Thema "Homöostase"

Zudem fördert das "Visiting scientist programme" die wissenschaftliche Zusammenarbeit zwischen den EU-LIFE-Partnern. Das Programm finanziert den Aufenthalt von wissenschaftlichem Personal an einem der Partnerinstitute – bis zu 6 Monate lang. Dies erleichtert den Austausch von Wissen und Technologien und stimuliert so die Zusammenarbeit in gemeinsamen Projekten.

Für eine offenere Wissenschaft: Projekt „ORION“

Das EU-Projekt ORION ist eine Initiative der Kommunikations-Arbeitsgruppe von EU-LIFE. ORION (Open Responsible Research and Innovation to further Outstanding Knowledge) setzt sich für eine zugänglichere und offenere Wissenschaft ein.

Wissenschaftliche Ergebnisse und der wissenschaftliche Prozess sollen der gesamten Gesellschaft offenstehen. Diese „offene Wissenschaft“ oder „Open Science“ ist eine zentrale Strategie der Europäischen Kommission.

ORION zielt auf institutionelle, kulturelle und Verhaltens-Änderungen von Forschungseinrichtungen und Forschungsförderern ab, die für die Umstellung auf Open Science nötig sind. Es richtet sich dabei an Forscherinnen und Forscher, das Management und die Führungsebene.

Das MDC ist einer von neun Partnern des Projekts und federführend bei der Entwicklung von Trainingseinheiten für das wissenschaftliche Personal. Diese Trainings sollen Forscherinnen und Forscher bei der Umstellung auf Open-Science-Prinzipien unterstützen.

Ein Kernelement von ORION sind „Co-Creation-Experimente“ mit unterschiedlichen Akteuren aus der Forschungsförderung, der Wissenschaft, der Industrie und aus der Öffentlichkeit. Aus diesen Experimenten sollen neue Citizen-Science-Projekte, Forschungsstrategien, Finanzierungsstrukturen und Lehrmaterialien hervorgehen.

www.orion-openscience.eu

Laufzeit und Budget von ORION

Open Responsible Research and Innovation to further Outstanding Knowledge

ORION ist ein europäisches Gemeinschaftsprojekt mit einer Laufzeit von vier Jahren (Mai 2017 bis April 2021). Es wird mit 3,2 Millionen Euro durch das EU-Rahmenprogramm Horizon 2020 gefördert. Im Arbeitsprogramm „Wissenschaft mit der und für die Gesellschaft“ (Science with and for Society) widmet es sich der effektiven Zusammenarbeit zwischen Gesellschaft und Wissenschaft.

Für Geschlechtergerechtigkeit in der Wissenschaft: Projekt „LIBRA“

Das LIBRA-Projekt (Leading Innovative measures to reach gender Balance in Research Activities) setzt sich für die Gleichberechtigung aller Geschlechter in der Wissenschaft ein. Hier kooperieren zehn europäische Forschungszentren aus den Lebenswissenschaften, alle davon sind Mitglieder von EU-LIFE.

Das Projekt untersucht die bestehenden Maßnahmen und Richtlinien an den Institutionen und identifiziert so geschlechtsspezifische Benachteiligungen und Hürden.

Dieser partizipative Lernprozess soll zur Entwicklung von Richtlinien führen, die strukturelle Barrieren abbauen, damit Frauen und Männern die selben Karrierewege in der Wissenschaft offenstehen. Im Fokus stehen dabei die Rekrutierung von Personal, die Karriereentwicklung und die Vereinbarkeit von Berufs- und Privatleben. Außerdem soll das Bewusstsein geschärft werden, dass Geschlechterunterschiede Einfluss auf das Design von Experimenten haben.

www.eu-libra.eu

 

Laufzeit und Budget von LIBRA

Leading Innovative measures to reach gender Balance in Research Activities

Das LIBRA-Projekt hat eine Laufzeit von 3,5 Jahren und wird durch das EU-Rahmenprogramm Horizon 2020 im Arbeitsprogramm „Wissenschaft mit der und für die Gesellschaft“ (Science with and for Society) gefördert.

EU-LIFE: Group Picture


An alliance of top research centers in the life sciences

EU-LIFE, which brings together Europe’s leading life science research centers, represents the interests of its members at the European level and promotes exchange between the partner institutions.

The EU-LIFE alliance currently comprises 13 renowned life science research centers in Europe, all working together to promote and advance excellence in European research. The MDC is the only German member of this alliance.

Representing shared interests in European policymaking

The EU-LIFE’s partner institutions are located throughout Europe and represent more than 7,200 scientists. The alliance was formed in May 2013 and has since established itself as the unified voice of research in European policymaking.

It is currently part of the two stakeholder platforms – the Open Science Policy Platform and the European Research Area Stakeholders Platform – that frequently advise and make recommendations to EU Commissioner Carlos Moedas and the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Research and Innovation: the Open Science Policy Platform and the stakeholder platform European Research Area.

Cooperation in working groups

The alliance’s European research policy recommendations are based on the knowledge that comes out of the EU-LIFE working groups, which involve the cooperation of all partner institutions.

There are currently six of these working groups that meet regularly and advise on matters of translational research, science communication, recruitment and training, technology transfer, and grants and funding strategies. In the EU-Life Strategy Working Group, directors from all partner institutions jointly develop strategic position papers and recommendations.

Scientific exchange

Once a year, the EU-LIFE research community comes together to discuss a current scientific topic.

Participants of the 2017 EU-LIFE Scientific Meeting on homeostasis

Cooperation between EU-LIFE partners is also fostered by the Visiting Scientist Programme, which funds the transfer of scientific personnel from one partner institution to another for a period of up to six months. This program facilitates the exchange of knowledge and technology and stimulates cooperation in joint projects.

For more openness in science: the ORION project

The European project ORION (Open Responsible Research and Innovation to further Outstanding KNowledge) is an initiative of EU-LIFE’s Communication Working Group that strives to create a more open research environment.

Scientific findings and processes should be freely accessible to society as a whole. Open science is a core part of the European Commission’s strategy to promote research and innovation.

ORION sets out to implement the principles of open science and, in doing so, help to bring about the necessary institutional, cultural, and behavioral changes in research funding and performing organizations, targeting researchers, management staff, and high-level leadership.

The MDC is one of ORION’s nine project partners and the institution responsible for developing training sessions for scientific personnel. These sessions aim to help researchers convert to using Open Science principles.

A central element of ORION are “co-creation experiments” that engage multiple stakeholders from research funding bodies, science, industry, and the general public with a view to identifying barriers, drivers, interests, and values. These experiments should give rise to new citizen science projects, research strategies, funding structures, and teaching materials.

Duration and budget of ORION

Open Responsible Research and Innovation to further Outstanding Knowledge

ORION is a collaborative European project with a duration of four years (May 2017 to April 2021). It has a total budget of €3.2 million, funded by the EU’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation program. The project is dedicated to building effective cooperation between science and society under the Science with and for Society work program.

For gender equality in science: the LIBRA project

LIBRA (Leading Innovative measures to reach gender Balance in Research Activities) is a project working to achieve gender equality in science. It brings together ten European life science research centers, all of which are members of EU-LIFE.

The project examines existing policies and procedures within these institutions so as to identify gender biases and obstacles.

This process of mutual learning will result in a set of sustainable guidelines that break down structural barriers and give men and women equal opportunities in their research careers. To achieve this, the project focuses on personnel recruitment, career development, the work-life balance, and the gender dimension of research.

Duration and budget of LIBRA

Leading Innovative measures to reach gender Balance in Research Activities

The LIBRA project has a duration of three and a half years and is funded by the EU’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation program as part of the Science with and for Society work program.