Friedemann Paul group

Paul Lab

Clinical Neuroimmunology

Profile

Our focus is upon the improvement of the therapeutic and diagnostic possibilities for neuroimmunological diseases, especially for multiple sclerosis.

We are working on this with a translational approach; this means that we try to transfer new developments and findings from basic research directly into clinical work.

The Clinical Neuroimmunology Group is one of four working groups at the NeuroCure Clinical Research Center (NCRC).

Here you can find the press release concerning our latest results.

Team

Group Leader

Prof. Dr. med. Friedemann Paul, Facharzt für Neurologie
friedemann.paul@charite.de

Curriculum Vitae

 

Physicians

Dr. med. Judith Bellmann-Strobl, Consultant Neurologist
Head of the Study Ambulance of the Research Group
judith.bellmann-strobl@charite.de

Dr. med. Susanna Asseyer, Physician
susanna.asseyer@charite.de

Dr. med. Marcus D'Souza, Physician
marcus.dsouza@charite.de

Dr. med. Joseph Kuchling, Physician
joseph.kuchling@charite.de

PD Dr. Tanja Schmitz-Hübsch, Consultant Neurologist
tanja.schmitz-huebsch@charite.de

Dr. med. Nadja Siebert, Consultant Neurologist
nadja.borisow@charite.de

 

Scientists / Neuro Diagnostic Laboratory

Dr. med. Alexander Brandt, Physician
Head of the Neuro Diagnostic Laboratory
alexander.brandt@charite.de

Lina Samira Bahr, M.Sc. Ernährungswissenschaftlerin
lina.bahr@charite.de

Charlotte Bereuter, Optometritian
charlotte.bereuter@charite.de

Claudia Chien, PhD Student Medical Neuroscience
claudia.chien@charite.de

Priscilla Koduah-Bäcker, PhD Student Medical Neurosciences
priscilla.koduah@charite.de

Seydamirhosein Motamedi, M.Sc. PhD Student
seyedamirhosein.motamedi@charite.de

Svenja Specovius, M.Sc. PhD Student
svenja.specovius@charite.de

Hanna Zimmermann, M.Eng.PhD Student
hanna.zimmermann@charite.de

 

Assistance

Cynthia Kraut, Medical Technician, Radiology/ Data and Image Analysis
cynthia.kraut@charite.de

Claudia Messelhäuße, Study Assistant
claudia.messelhaeusser@charite.de

Mirjana Mitrovic, Assistant
mirjana.mitrovic@charite.de

Susan Pikol, Medical Technician/ Data and Image Analysis
susan.pikol@charite.de

Bibiane Seeger-Schwinge, Medical Technician
bibiane.seeger@charite.de

Gritt Stoffels, Study Assistant, MS Nurse
gritt.stoffels@charite.de

Katharina Stößlein, Study Assistant
katharina.stoesslein@charite.de

Bettina Zwingenberger, Study Assistant
bettina.zwingenberger@charite.de

 

Doctoral Candidates

Radina Arsenova

Noah Ayadi

Anna Chorschew

Frederike Cosima Oertel

Rebekka Rust

 

Visiting Scientists

PD Dr. med. Jan-Markus Dörr, MD (Neurologie, Klinik Hennigsdorf), Consultant Neurologist
jan-markus.doerr@charite.de

Sebastian Mansow-Model, Mathematician (Motognosis, Berlin)
sebastian.model@charite.de

Karen Otte, Information Scientist (Motognosis, Berlin)
karen.otte@charite.de

Dr. med. Jens Würfel, MD (MIAC AG, Basel, CH), Consultant Radiology
jw@miac.ch

Dr. med. Athina Papadopoulou, Consultant Neurologist
athina.papadopoulou@charite.de

Research

Multiple sclerosis (MS) is the most frequent chronic inflammatory disease of the central nervous system and primarily affects young adults.

MS is causally based upon autoimmune processes; this means that the body's own immune system mistakes the nervous system as "foreign" and initiates an inflammation reaction, as a result of which nerve cells and axons, with their sheathing protective coating, are damaged. Many different neurological symptoms can occur. People suffering from MS can for example feel tingling sensations or numbness, receive paralyses or balance disorders, stumble more frequently or develop problems with their sight.

The course taken by MS varies greatly between individuals, and its course cannot be predicted well in individual patients. One of our fields of activity is the development and establishing of new progress and prognosis markers. These include, for example, the improvement of possibilities in the field of magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), e.g. ultra-high-field MRI and also the establishing of new imaging procedures such as optical coherence tomography (OCT).

It is not yet possible to cure MS. Progression and symptoms can, however, be positively influenced by various drug therapies and non-drug measures. Another fields of activity is the development and conducting of clinical studies with the aim of improving the therapeutic possibilities of MS. These include on the one hand clinical studies of phases I to IV, which we partly carry out in cooperation with the industry, and on the other hand new non-drug treatment approaches such as repetitive transcranial magnetic stimulation for the treatment of depressiveness and fatigue and visual restitution therapy for the improvement of persisting sight impairments after inflammation of the optic nerve.

Other diseases on which we have a research focus are Susac syndrome and neuromyelitis optica.

The Clinical Neuroimmunology group works in close cooperation with the interdisciplinary outpatient clinics of the Experimental and Clinical Research Center (ECRC ). In addition to the Neuroimmunology outpatient clinic, other additional disciplines ensure state-of-the-art patient care based on the current state of knowledge.

Publications

Cooperation Partners

Here you find a selection of cooperation partners:
  • Clinic for Neurology, Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin
  • Experimental and Clinical Research Center Berlin, Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin and Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine (Prof. Dr. T. Niendorf, Dr. C. Infante)
  • Bernstein Center for Computational Neuroscience, Berlin (Prof. J. Haynes)
  • Clinic and Polyclinic for Neurology, University Medical Center Münster (Prof. Dr. E. Ringelstein, Dr. I. Kleffner)
  • Clinic and Polyclinic for Neurology, University Medical Center Hamburg Eppendorf (Prof. Dr. C. Heesen, Dr. S. Schippling)
  • Clinic for Neurology, Heinrich-Heine University Düsseldorf (Prof. Dr. O. Aktas, Dr. M. Ringelstein, Prof. Dr. H.-P. Hartung)
  • Neurological Clinic, Ruprecht-Karls-University, Heidelberg (Dr. S. Jarius, Prof. B. Wildemann)
  • Clinic and Polyclinic for Neurology of the University of Ulm (Prof. H. Tumani, Prof. v. Arnim)
  • Clinic and Polyclinic for Neurology, Neurological University Hospital, Carl Gustav Carus medical Center, Dresden (PD Dr. T. Ziemssen)
  • Center for Muscle and Bone Research (ZMK), Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin (Prof. Dr. D. Felsenberg, Dr. G. Armbrecht)
  • Neurology Department, Mayo Clinic, USA (Prof. B. Weinshenker)
  • Department of Neurosciences, Institut d’Investigacions Biomèdiques August Pi I Sunyer (IDIBAPS), Barcelona Spain (Prof. Dr. P. Villoslada)
  • Department of Neurobiology, Weizman Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel (Prof. A. Zangen)
  • Technion, Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel (Prof. Y. Moudim, Dr. S. Mandel)
  • Gfnmediber GmbH Berlin (A. Brandt)
  • Heidelberg Engineering GmbH, Heidelberg
  • Brainsway, Jerusalem, Israel 
  • Department of Neuropathology, University Medical Center Göttingen (Prof. Dr. W. Brück)
  • Clinic for Neurology, University Zürich (Dr. S. Schippling)
  • Beuth Hochschule für Technik Berlin (Beuth University for Applied Sciences) (Prof. Dr. H. Dietze)
  • Cooperation between BIH and Startup bootcamp
Friedemann Paul

Contact

 

Prof. Dr. Friedemann Paul

 

NeuroCure Clinical Research Center
Charité Campus Mitte

Tel:  +49 (0)30 450 539 705
Fax: +49 (0)30 450 539 915
friedemann.paul@charite.de

 

 

Experimental and Clinical Research Center
Lindenberger Weg 80
13125 Berlin