Animal Phenotyping Herz

Animal Phenotyping

Arnd Heuser

Profil

Unsere Plattform bietet eine große Anzahl validierter Ansätze zur Untersuchung physiologischer und morphologischer Merkmale an Mäusen und Ratten und zum Screening auf phänotypische Variationen. Damit steht Forschern eine wichtige Ressource für die Untersuchung von Tierkrankheitsmodellen zur Verfügung.

Trotz zahlreicher Fortschritte in den Forschungstechniken, wie z.B. In-vitro-Methoden und die fortgeschrittene Computermodellierung, die den Einsatz von Tieren vermeiden, besteht in der präklinischen Forschung immer noch Bedarf daran, die morphologischen, physiologischen, metabolischen oder Verhaltensmerkmale - also den Phänotyp - von Tieren zu untersuchen. Eine solche ganzheitliche Herangehensweise an Gesundheit und Krankheit liefert Daten, die sonst nicht zur Verfügung stünden. Insbesondere ermöglicht die Phänotypisierung von Tieren den Forschern ein besseres Verständnis der komplexen Wechselwirkungen zwischen dem Herz-Kreislauf-, dem Atmungs- und dem Zentralnervensystem zu entwickeln. Dies ist für die Entwicklung vieler Humanarzneimittel und Therapien von entscheidender Bedeutung.

Untersuchung von Modelltieren auf nicht-invasive Weise

Eine umfassende Auswahl an Instrumenten zur physiologischen und morphologischen Untersuchung

Die Animal Phenotyping Platform am Max-Delbrück-Centrum verfügt über eine umfassende Auswahl an Methoden zur physiologischen und morphologischen Bewertung von Mäusen und Ratten in Experimenten. Wir konzentrieren uns dabei auf Techniken, die den Einsatz von Versuchstieren minimieren und es Forschern ermöglichen, vergleichbare Informationen von weniger Tieren oder mehr Informationen von der gleichen Anzahl von Tieren zu erhalten.

Der Einsatz einer Vielzahl von präklinischen Bildgebungstechniken - wie z.B. Hochfrequenz-Ultraschall, Photoakustik, Mikro-Computertomographie, quantitative Biolumineszenz- und Fluoreszenzbildgebung oder Zeitbereichs-Kernspintomographie - ermöglicht es den Forschern, den Krankheitsverlauf zu charakterisieren und therapeutische Effekte über den gesamten Versuchszeitraum zu ermitteln.

Zusätzlich setzen wir verschiedene nicht-invasive In-vivo-Untersuchungen ein, mit denen physiologische, metabolische und bioelektrische Variablen bei bewussten Tieren überwacht werden können (z.B. Blutdruck- und Herzfrequenzmessungen, Elektrokardiographie und Atmungsanalyse). Wir bieten sowohl erfahrenen als auch unerfahrenen Forschern modernste Dienstleistungen, innovative Techniken und hilfreiche Beratung zu pathophysiologischen Fragen.

Unsere Methoden

  • Hochfrequenz-Ultraschall (US)
  • Photoakustik Bildgebung (PAI)
  • Mikro-Computertomographie (µCT)
  • Magnetresonanztomographie (MRT)
  • Multiphoton Intravital Mikroskopie
  • Stoffwechseluntersuchungen
  • Klinische Chemie
  • Klinische Hämatologie
  • Funktionelle Hämodynamik
  • Analyse der Körperzusammensetzung
  • Verhaltenstests
  • Elektrokardiographie (EKG)
  • Blutdruckmessungen
  • Analyse der Atmung
  • Biolumineszenz- und Fluoreszenz Bildgebung

Veröffentlichungen

Antragsstellung für Tierversuche

Tierversuche sollten von einer Beratung der Mitarbeiter der Animal Phenotyping Platform begleitet werden. Diese Beratung wird die Auswahl der besten Phänotypisierungstechniken für Ihren Versuch sicherstellen. Für ein Treffen mit den Mitarbeitern der Animal Phenotyping Platform rufen Sie uns bitte an oder senden Sie uns eine E-Mail.

Tierversuche an Wirbeltieren und Kopffüßern müssen von den Behörden genehmigt werden. Deshalb ist die Berücksichtigung des Tierschutzes und des 3R-Prinzips (Replacement, Reduction, Refinement) ein wichtiger Punkt in unserer Arbeit.

Wir bieten Ihnen an, Sie dabei zu unterstützen:

  • Schreiben von Lizenzanträgen für Tierversuche gemäß den gesetzlichen Anforderungen
  • Verfassen von Anträgen in Deutsch (wichtig für englischsprachige Gruppen)
  • Entwicklung von Projektplänen
  • Festlegen von Randomisierungsverfahren
  • Biometrische Planung der Experimente

Das Schreiben eines Antrags für Tierversuche ist der erste Schritt zur Durchführung dieser Versuche. Für unerfahrene Personen ist dies mit viel Aufwand und Zeit verbunden und verzögert somit den Versuchsfortschritt. Das Schreiben dieser Anträge, die in deutscher Sprache abgefasst sein müssen, ist für Muttersprachler schwierig genug, aber noch schwieriger für Nicht-Muttersprachler.

Die Animal Phenotyping Platform unterstützt alle Gruppen des MDC bei der effizienten und schnellen Umsetzung von Anträgen für Tierversuche. Neben den formalen und rechtlichen Aspekten berät die Animal Phenotyping Platform die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler auch bei der Planung, der Berechnung der Tierzahlen, den Möglichkeiten der Weiterqualifizierung und dem Know-how-Austausch mit anderen Gruppen. Kommunikation und Entwürfe können in englischer Sprache erfolgen, daher ist die Antragstellung für alle englischsprachigen Gruppen einfacher zu handhaben.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Animal Phenotyping Platform keine Verantwortung für die Anträge übernehmen kann. Es liegt in der Eigenverantwortung der Gruppen, das Personal für die Position des verantwortlichen Leiters und stellvertretenden Leiters des Projekts zu qualifizieren.

Sowohl die Animal Phenotyping Platform als auch die Tierschutzbeauftragten arbeiten eng zusammen, um Ihre Unterstützung sicherzustellen. Die Arbeit der Animal Phenotyping Platform ersetzt nicht die Beurteilung durch die Tierschutzbeauftragten. Alle Anträge und die Korrespondenz mit den Behörden müssen noch mit den Tierschutzbeauftragten besprochen, von ihnen Korrektur gelesen und durch sie eingereicht werden. Bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt unterstützt Sie die Animal Phenotyping Platform jedoch bei jedem Schritt des Antrags.

Animal Phenotyping Herz

Animal Phenotyping

Arnd Heuser

Profile

Our platform provides a large set of validated approaches for investigating physiological and morphological characteristics in mice and rats and sensitively screening for phenotypic variations. This gives researchers an important resource for studying animal disease models.

Despite numerous advances in research techniques such as in vitro methods and advanced computer modeling that avoid the use of animals, there is still a need in preclinical research to study the morphological, physiological, metabolic or behavioral characteristics – the phenotype – of animals. Such a holistic approach to health and disease provides data that would otherwise not be available. Specifically, animal phenotyping allows researchers to gain a better understanding of the complex interactions between the cardiovascular, respiratory, and central nervous systems, which is critical for the development of many human pharmaceuticals and therapies.

Studying model animals in non-invasive ways

A comprehensive collection of tools for the physiological and morphological assessment

The Animal Phenotyping Platform at the Max Delbrück Center houses a comprehensive collection of tools for the physiological and morphological assessment of experimental mice and rats. We focus on techniques that minimize animal use and enable researchers to obtain comparable levels of information from fewer animals or to obtain more information from the same number of animals.

Using a wide variety of preclinical imaging techniques – such as high-frequency ultrasound, photoacoustic imaging, micro-computed tomography, quantitative bioluminescence and fluorescence imaging, and time-domain nuclear magnetic resonance imaging – allows researchers to characterize disease progression and ascertain therapeutic effects throughout the entire experimental period.

Additionally, we use various non-invasive in vivo examinations that allow physiological, metabolic, and bioelectrical variables to be monitored in conscious animals (e.g., blood pressure and heart rate measurements, electrocardiography, and respiratory analysis). We provide state-of-the-art services, innovative techniques, and helpful advice on pathophysiological questions to both experienced and novice investigators.

A holistic approach to functional genomics

The Max Delbrück Center is currently building a dedicated facility for in vivo pathophysiology experiments (the In Vivo Pathophysiology Laboratory) to promote preclinical translational research and functional genomics. Our platform will pool and further improve well-established phenotyping approaches, ensuring the highest technological and quality standards.

We will give investigators the capacity to accurately assess developmental, behavioral, cardiovascular, and metabolic characteristics in rodent disease models over long periods of time and to sensitively screen for phenotypic variations. The planned laboratory is expected to have multiple benefits for researchers at the Max Delbrück Center and for collaborating external scientists.

Our tools

  • High-frequency ultrasound
  • Photoacoustic imaging
  • Micro-computed tomography
  • Bioluminescence and fluorescence imaging
  • Clinical chemistry
  • Hematology
  • Metabolic phenotyping
  • Body composition analysis
  • Electrocardiography (ECG)
  • Blood pressure measurements
  • Respiratory analysis
  • Computer Tomography (CT)

Publications

Animal Experiment License application

Animal experiments should be accompanied by a consultation of the Animal Phenotyping Platform staff. This counselling will ensure the selection of the best phenotyping techniques for your experiment. For a meeting with the Animal Phenotyping Platform staff please call or send us an email.

Animal experiments on vertebrates and cephalopods are required to be approved by the authorities. Therefore the consideration of animal welfare and the 3R principle (Replacement, Reduction, Refinement) is an important point in our work.

We offer to support you in:

  • Writing animal experiment license applications according to the legal requirements
  • Writing applications in German (important for English speaking groups)
  • Development of project plans
  • Finding randomization procedures
  • Biometrical planning of the experiments

Writing an application for animal experiments is the first step to perform animal experiments. For inexperienced persons, this will need a lot of effort and time and thus delay the experimental progress. Writing of these applications, which must be German, is difficult enough for native speakers, but even more so for non-native speakers.

The Animal Phenotyping Platform supports all groups of the MDC in the efficient and fast development of applications for animal experiments. In addition to the formal and legal aspects, the Animal Phenotyping Platform counsels the scientists in planning, calculating animal numbers, possibilities of further qualification and exchange of know-how with other groups. Communication and drafts can be done in English, therefore the application is easier to manage for all English-speaking groups.

Please note that the Animal Phenotyping Platform cannot take responsibility for the applications. It is the groups’ own responsibility to qualify the staff for the position of the responsible manager and deputy manager of the project.

Both the Animal Phenotyping Platform and animal welfare officers work closely together to ensure your support. The work of the Animal Phenotyping Platform does not replace the assessment by the animal welfare officers. All applications and correspondence with the authorities still have to be discussed with, proof read by and submitted through the animal welfare officers. However, up to this point the Animal Phenotyping Platform supports you in every step of the application.