DNA

Henssen Lab

Genomic instability in pediatric cancer

Profil

We are a group of physicians and scientists at the Experimental and Clinical Research Center (ECRC) of the MDC and Charité Berlin. We are interested in deciphering the mechanisms that lead to the formation of refractory neuroblastoma and rhabdomyosarcoma tumors in children with the goal to find new therapies to improve patient outcome.

The lab studies three of the most common cancers in pediatric patients: neuroblastoma, rhabdomyosarcoma and rhabdoid tumors. These tumors can be highly lethal and very difficult to treat.

To elucidate mechanisms of genomic plasticity, we are developing functional genomics approaches using high-throughput DNA, RNA and ChIP sequencing. Our long term goal is to determine specific cancer vulnerabilities that can guide clinical trials of personalized treatments for children with refractory cancers.

Further information on our website

Team

Group Leader

Prof. Dr. Anton Henssen
anton.henssen@charite.de
Phone: +49 (30) 450540395

Scientists

Dr. Andy-Qinghao Yu
andy-qinghao.yu@charite.de 
Phone: +49 (30) 450540536

Dr. Elias Rodríguez Fos 
elias.rodriguez-fos@charite.de 
Phone: +49 (30) 450540536

Dr. Olga Sidorova
olga.sidorova@charite.de 
Phone: +49 (30) 450540538

Dr. Bastiaan Spanjaard
bastiaan.spanjaard@charite.de 
Phone: +49 (30) 450540538

Dr. Maria Stefanova
maria.stefanova@charite.de 
Phone: +49 (30) 450540536

PhD Students

Finnja Becker 
finnja.becker@charite.de 
Phone: +49 (30) 450540536

Yi Bei
yi.bei@charite.de
Phone: +49 (30) 450540536

Lotte Brückner 
lotte.brueckner@charite.de 
Phone: +49 (30) 450540536

Martina Fernandez 
martina.fernandez@charite.de
Phone: +49 (30) 450540536

Mădălina Giurgiu
madalina.giurgiu@charite.de
Phone: +49 (30) 450540538

Carla Hamilcaro 
carla.hamilcaro@charite.de 
Phone: +49 (30) 450540536

Maja-Celine Cwikla 
maja-Celine.Cwikla@mdc-berlin.de 
Phone: +49 (30) 450540534

Varvara Louma 
barbaralouma@gmail.com
Phone: +49 (30) 450540536

Medical Students

Alexander Herrmann
alexander.herrmann@charite.de
Phone: +49 (30) 450540536

Robin Xu 
robin.xu@charite.de 
Phone: +49 (30) 450540538

Technical Assistant

Madison-Skye Chacon
madison-skye.chacon@charite.de
Phone: +49 (30) 450540536

Joshua Atta
joshua.atta@charite.de 
Phone: +49 (30) 450540538

Marah Hamdan
marah.hamdan@charite.de 
Phone: +49 (30) 450540538

Katharina Pardon
katharina.pardon@charite.de 
Phone: +49 (30) 450540538

Claudia Röefzaad
claudia.roeefzaad@charite.de 
Phone: +49 (30) 450540536

Nadine Wittstruck 
nadine.wittstruck@charite.de 
Phone: +49 (30) 450540538

Allumni

Dr. Eric van Leen

Dr. Mercé Planas-Félix

Konstantin Helmsauer
konstantin.helmsauer@charite.de
Phone: +49 (30) 450540538

Fabian Pusch
fabian.pusch@charite.de
Phone: +49 (30) 450540538

Victor Bardinet

Jennifer von Stebut
jennifer.von-stebut@charite.de
Phone: +49 (30) 450540538

Natalie Timme
natalie.timme@charite.de 

Dr. Youjia Han

Dr. Kerstin Haase

Heathcliff Dorado García

Rocío Chamorro González
 

News