DNA

Henssen Lab

Genomic instability in pediatric cancer

Profil

We are a group of physicians and scientists at the Experimental and Clinical Research Center (ECRC) of the MDC and Charité Berlin. We are interested in deciphering the mechanisms that lead to the formation of refractory neuroblastoma and rhabdomyosarcoma tumors in children with the goal to find new therapies to improve patient outcome.

The lab studies three of the most common cancers in pediatric patients: neuroblastoma, rhabdomyosarcoma and rhabdoid tumors. These tumors can be highly lethal and very difficult to treat.

To elucidate mechanisms of genomic plasticity, we are developing functional genomics approaches using high-throughput DNA, RNA and ChIP sequencing. Our long term goal is to determine specific cancer vulnerabilities that can guide clinical trials of personalized treatments for children with refractory cancers.

Further information on our website

Team

Group Leader

Dr. Anton Henssen
anton.henssen@charite.de
Phone: +49 (30) 450 540394

Scientists

Dr. Katharina Kasack
katharina.kasack@charite.de
Phone: +49 (30) 450540538/ 539

PhD Students

Heathcliff Dorado García
heathcliff.dorado-garca@charite.de
Phone: +49 (30) 450540538 /-539

Yi Bei
yi.bei@charite.de
Phone: +49 (30) 450540535/ 539

Rocío Chamorro González
maria.chamorro@charite.de
Phone: +49 (30) 450540538 /-539

Konstantin Helmsauer
konstantin.helmsauer@charite.de
Phone: +49 (30) 450540538/ 539

Medical Students

Victor Bardinet
victor.bardinet@charite.de
Phone: +49 (30) 450540538/ 539

Jennifer von Stebut
jennifer.von-stebut@charite.de
Phone: +49 (30) 450540538 /-539

Natalie Timme
natalie.timme@charite.de

Students

Celine Chen
cyc2145@columbia.edu
Phone: +49 (30) 450540535/ -539

Technical Assistant

Claudia Röefzaad
claudia.roeefzaad@charite.de
Phone: +49 (30) 450540538 /-539

News

Anton G. Henssen

Dr. med. Anton Henssen

 

Contact

anton.henssen@charite.de

 

Experimental and Clinical Research Center

Lindenberger Weg 80

13125 Berlin